The Favourite Wins Big at British Independent Film Awards


The Irish produced film The Favourite picked up a record-breaking 10 wins at the British Independent Film awards.

Yorgos Lanthimos’  film scooped some of the major awards  including the night’s main prize, best British Independent Film, as well as best Director for Lanthimos and best Screenplay for writers Deborah Davis and Tony Mcnamara. Following her win at Venice, Olivia Colman picked up the award for Best Actress with her co-star Rachel Weisz winning best supporting actress.

Commenting on the wins, Element Pictures Producer Ed Guiney said “I’m thrilled for all involved in The Favourite we had a wonderful cast and crew who worked on this film led by visionary director Yorgos Lanthimos and we’re all hugely grateful to BIFA for this massive recognition. “

Other wins on the night for The Favourite were best casting for Dixie Chassay, best cinematography for Robbie Ryan, best costume design for Sandy Powell, best make up and hair design for Nadia Stacey and best production design for Fiona Crombie.

The Favourite will be released in Ireland on 1st January 2019.


Full list of awards

Best British independent film The Favourite
Best director Yorgos Lanthimos, The Favourite
Best screenplay The Favourite
Best actress Olivia Colman, The Favourite
Best actor Joe Cole, A Prayer Before Dawn
Best supporting actress Rachel Weisz, The Favourite
Best supporting actor Alessandro Nivola, Disobedience
Best casting The Favourite
Best costume design The Favourite
Best cinematography The Favourite
Best editing American Animals
Best effects Early Man
Best make up & hair design The Favourite
Best music You Were Never Really Here
Best production design The Favourite
Best sound You Were Never Really Here
Best documentary Evelyn
Best British short film The Big Day
Most promising newcomer Jessie Buckley, Beast
The Douglas Hickox award for best debut director Richard Billingham, Ray & Liz
Debut screenwriter Bart Layton, American Animals
Breakthrough producer Jacqui Davies, Ray & Liz
Discovery award Voyageuse
Best international independent film Roma




Irish Film Review @ Cork Film Festival: The Favourite







‘Frank’ Receives 5 Nominations

Frank trailer

Lenny Abrahamson’s Frank led the way for Irish film with five nominations for this year’s British Independent Film Awards. Created in 1998 by Raindance founder Elliot Grove, The British Independent Film Awards set out to celebrate merit and achievement in independently funded filmmaking.

Frank was nominated in the following categories

·         Best Director – Lenny Abrahamson

·         Best Screenplay – Jon Ronson & Peter Straughan

·         Best Supporting Actor – Michael Fassbender

·         Best Supporting Actress – Maggie Gyllenhaal

·         Technical Achievement – Music (Stephen Rennicks)

Speaking today, Abrahamson commented that “I’m delighted for everyone involved in Frank that it’s getting such an endorsement from the BIFA and honored to be nominated for Best Director.”

John Michael McDonagh’s Calvary received 4 nominations for Best Film, Best Director, Best Screenplay and Best Actor. Other Irish nominations were Andrew Scott for Best Supporting Actor (Calvary)  and Robbie Ryan for Best Technical Achievement (Frank).

The winners will be announced at the much anticipated 17th awards ceremony to be held on Sunday 7th December in central London.

Frank is currently available on DVD and On-Demand.