Film Ireland is delighted to announce that one of our talented critics, Kimberly Reyes is among the new set of members due to join the Golden Globes organization, marking the largest, and most diverse class in their organisation’s history.

Of the 21 new members, their demographic breakdowns are as follows:

  • 48% identify as women
  • 29% identify as Black
  • 24% identify as Asian
  • 29% identify as Latinx
  • 19% identify as Middle Eastern/North African

The 21 journalists, which resulted from an outreach effort by the Hollywood Foreign Press Association, increased the current membership by 20%. The organization anticipates adding a similar-sized group in 2022.

“At Film Ireland we are delighted that Kimberly’s voice will be recognised as an integral part of such a prestigious and established organisation. We welcome the Golden Globes’ shift to listen to a range of more diverse perspectives and know firsthand the wealth of knowledge that Kimberly can bring to the table.”

HFPA president Helen Hoehne said, “We are thrilled to welcome these new members into our family. We are building a new organization, one that is not focused on fulfilling quotas, but instead has diversity and inclusion at its core.”

Credential Committee member Tre’vell Anderson said, “As a committee, we’re proud of this first-class we’ve invited to join the reimagined HFPA. They’re a group of well-respected journalists from around the world who will bring a variety of unique perspectives to this organization,”

The members of the HFPA Class of 2021 are:

  • Raffi Boghosian, Al Arabiya
  • Kelley Carter, ESPN (Global)
  • David Caspi, Israel Hayom
  • Yong Chavez, ABS-CBN
  • Andrés Correa Guatarasma, El Universal
  • Earl Gibson III, Getty Images
  • Eun Seon Ha, KOFIC
  • Hamdy Howaida, El Akhbar
  • Itsuko Hirai, Movie Walker Press
  • K.J. Matthews, DW-TV
  • Juan Navarro, Televisa
  • Jânio Carlos Vieira Nazareth, Cinépop
  • Ruben Peralta-Rigaud, SensaCine
  • Gerardo Prat, ¡HOLA! TV
  • Kimberly Reyes, Film Ireland
  • Mico Saad, TeN TV
  • Asel Sherniyazova, AKIpress News Agency
  • Gabriel Silva Lamboglia, El País
  • Miriam Spritzer, L’Officiel Brasil
  • Mario Pacheco Székely, El Universal
  • Yuko Yoshikawa, Cinema Today

The new members can immediately vote on the Golden Globes, vote on future board elections and serve on committees. The new members will have voting rights for 10 years.


Write A Comment