The Irish Animation Awards’ shortlist has been published in advance of the awards which are taking place on Saturday 25th March in Dingle.

The awards, which are sponsored by RTÉjr, the Irish Film Board and Philip Lee, acknowledge the outstanding creative talent within the Irish animation, visual effects and gaming industries.

There are 12 categories to be awarded and there will also be the prestigious Murakami award on the night. Winners will receive a statuette, designed by animator, filmmaker and teacher Eimhin McNamara, which resembles a Phenakistoscope which was an early animation device used to create an illusion of motion.


IAA 2017 – Nominees

(listed alphabetically by show)


1. Best Animated Preschool Series (up to 6 years) ‘Lily’s Driftwood Bay’ – Production Team
‘Little Roy’ – JAM Media Production team
‘Puffin Rock’ – Maurice Joyce: Director
2. Kid’s Choice Award For Best Animated Series ‘Danger Mouse’ – Peter Lewis
‘Roy’ – JAM Media Production team
‘Wander over Yonder’ – Peter Lewis: Producer, Gillian Comerford: Director, Pete Slattery: Animation Director
3. Best Animated Short Film ‘City of Roses’ – Andrew Kavanagh: Director
‘Geist’ – Alex Sherwood: Director, Ben Harper: Director, Sean Mullen: Director
‘Second to None’ – Vincent Gallagher
4. Best Writer for Preschool Animation (up to 6 years) ‘Doc McStuffins: Welcome to McStuffinsville’ – Chris Nee, Kent Redeker
‘Octonauts: The Great Swamp Search’ – Stephanie Simpson
‘Puffin Rock: The First Snow’ – Davey Moore, Sara Daddy
5. Best Writer for an Animated Series ‘Brain Freeze: (DNA): Is Every Human Being Unique?’ – Colm Tobin & Aidan O’Donovan
‘Roy: Karma Chameleon’ –  Dave Rice
‘Roy: ROY 2.0’ – Mark Hodkinson
6. Best VFX as part of Animated TV Series or Film ‘Brain Freeze’ – Ian Benjamin Kenny
‘Go Jetters’ – Rob Fletcher, Mario Bortas, Rodrigo Rocha
‘Wander Over Yonder’ – Peter Lewis: Producer, Gillian Comerford: Director, Deirdre Behan: FX Lead
7. Best Animation for Apps and Gaming ‘Her Majesty’s SPIFFING’ – Production Team, William Barr & Alan Martin
‘The Little Acre’ – Pewter Games Production Team
‘Little Roy’s Wonder Doodler’ – Niall Mooney: Director, Will Wivell: Animator
8. Best Design and Art Direction ‘Bernard Dunne’s Mythical Heroes’ – Ian Benjamin Kenny
‘Octonauts’ – Stephen O’Connor
‘Puffin Rock’ – Lily Bernard, Stefano Scapolan
9. Best Director of an Animated TV Series ‘Danger Mouse’ – Rob Cullen
‘Lily’s Driftwood Bay’ – Tim Harper, Colin Williams
‘Little Roy’ – Alan Shannon
10. Best Animation ‘Puffin Rock’ – Animation Team
‘The Day Henry Met a Camera’ – Gilly: Director, Susan Broe: Producer, Andrew Dawson: Animation Director
‘Two by Two – Oops! The Ark Has Gone’ – Moetion Films Animation Team
11. Best Music and Sound Design ‘Brain Freeze’ – Stephen Kelly, Steve Lynch and Giles Packham
‘Danger Mouse’ – Dominic Lawrence: Supervising Sound Editor & Dubbing Mixer, Sol O’Carroll: Sound Editor, Andy Kirwan: Sound Editor
‘Go Jetters’ – Carl Cullen: Supervising Sound Editor & Dubbing Mixer, Edward Costello: Sound Editor
12. Best Irish Feature Film or Special ‘Song of the Sea’ – Tomm Moore
‘Two by Two – Oops! The Ark Has Gone’ – Moetion Films Team
‘Wander over Yonder: My Fair Hatey’ – Producer: Peter Lewis, Director: Gillian Comerford, Animation Director: Pete Slattery/Stephen McGann






Write A Comment