‘Where the Monsters Go’ Success

The Babelgum Online Film Festival’s Jury Award for Best Narrative Short has been awarded to Where the Monsters Go by Irish director Van Poynton. The renowned international jury of Carlos Battilana, Jean-Pierre Bekolo Obama, Richard Linklater, Sally Potter, Annie Sundberg, Rick Watson, and Jason Wishnow judged the shortlisted films and the winning shorts will screen as part of a ceremony during the Tribeca Film Festival in New York on Wednesday 28th April.

The 12-minute horror was directed and co-written by Poynton, and stars Bradley Hall  and Ben Smith as a pair of schoolboys in conflict over plans to break into a mysterious building.

Liam Garvo produced for Coral Bark Productions, London, where the film was shot on location, lensed by Ciro Candia, with Steadicam by Mike Scott. The theme score is from Christoph Bauschinger and production design by Humphrey Jaeger.

The winning films can be viewed here.

For further information on the short, please click here.