Information Session on Council Artist in the Community Scheme €10 000 Bursary Award 2016: Collaborative Film


Screening of Come Into The Gardens, Outlandish Theatre Platform and Shoot to Kill, Artist in the Community Scheme Project Realisation 2014

Photo: Richard Walshe (courtesy of Dublin International Film Festival)


Come and find out about the Arts Council Artist in the Community Scheme €10 000 Bursary Award 2016: Collaborative Film


Information Session


Date: 3 November 2016
Time: 6 – 8pm
Venue: Filmbase, Curved Street, Dublin 2.

Booking is required


Create and Filmbase are hosting this information session for film makers and artists in relation to this AIC Bursary Award. In this information session Katherine Atkinson, Professional Development, Create and Alan Fitzpatrick , director, Filmbase will talk about the Art’s Council Artist in the Community Scheme Bursary Award: Collaborative Film. The focus will be on the application process and how a Bursary can help facilitate and support experiment, research and professional development . There will be additional contributions from Jijo Sebastian, filmmaker and recipient of a Arts Council Next Generation Bursary Award.


Jijo Sebastian

Jijo Sebastian is a science graduate turned filmmaker. He has made six short films and one feature-length film focusing on the lives of the Indian community in Ireland. Having lived as a migrant in different places, Jijo is interested in themes of identity and belonging in a globalized world. His work is often experimental in form and darkly comic.

Jijo is one of the 16 Next Generation Bursary award winners from Arts council Ireland granted to innovative young artists as part of the Ireland Centenary program and one of the 2015 recipients of the Arts Council Artist in the Community Scheme Award. Jijo’s films have been screened at international film festivals including the International Short Film Festival of Uruguay (2013), Vibgyor International Film Festival, Thrissur, Kerala, India (2013) and Fokana Film Festival, Illinois, USA (2014).


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *