‘Song of the Sea’ Wins Best Film at IFTAs


Winners of the 12th IFTA Awards for Film and Drama were announced at a ceremony in Dublin last night.
Hosted by actress and television presenter, Caroline Morahan, the Awards Ceremony will be broadcast on TV3 on Monday, June 1st.

This year’s winner for Best Film went to Song of the Sea, which goes on release in Irish cinemas on 10th July. Also among the awards was Jim Sheridan, who received the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Best Film: Song of the Sea
Best Director Film: Lenny Abrahamson for Frank
Best Script Film: Terry McMahon for Patrick’s Day
Irish Film Board Rising Star: Sarah Greene
Best Lead Actor Film: Moe Dunford for Patrick’s Day
Best Lead Actress Film: Deirdre O’Kane for Noble
Best Supporting Actor Film: Domhnall Gleeson for Frank
Best Supporting Actress Film: Sarah Greene
George Morrison Feature Documentary: In A House That Ceased To Be
Best Animation Short: Somewhere Down The Line
Best Short Film: Rockmount
Best Drama in association with BAI: Love/Hate 5
Best Director Drama: Ciaran Donnelly for Vikings
Best Script Drama: Stuart Carolan for Love/Hate
Best Lead Actor Drama: Aidan Gillen for Charlie
Best Lead Actress Drama: Charlie Murphy for Love/Hate
Best Supporting Actor Drama: Stephen Rea for The Honourable Woman
Best Supporting Actress Drama: Aisling Franciosi for The Fall
Best Director of Photography: James Mather for Frank
Best Costume Design: Lorna Marie Mugan for Peaky Blinders
Best Editing: Emer Reynolds for One Million Dubliners
Best Make-Up and Hair sponsored by M.A.C.: Vikings
Best Original Score: Stephen McKeon for Queen and Country
Best Production Design: John Paul Kelly for The Theory of Everything
Best Sound: Patrick’s Day
Best International Film: Boyhood
Best International Actor: Eddie Redmayne for The Theory of Everything
Best International Actress: Julianne Moore for Still Alice


One Reply to “‘Song of the Sea’ Wins Best Film at IFTAs”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *