Shortlisted Films Announced for Fingal Film Festival

The Fingal Film Festival have announced the films in the running for the closing night awards ceremony at the four star Radisson Blu Hotel, Dublin airport.

“We have eight awards up for grabs this year, which will be presented on September 28th,” says Festival Director Liz Kenny. “The prizes range from cash to film equipment to broadcasting of films. And this year the introduction of our Irish language section has seen us inundated with Irish language films.”

The films will be judged be a panel comprising of: Mícheál Ó Meallaigh – Director of Commissioning TG4, Ciaran Tanham ( ISC ) Director of Photography and Boulder Media Creative Director Rob Cullen.

The shortlisted films which will feature in the festival programme are:

Best Feature Film
• Calloused Hands – Director: Jesse Quinones, UK/USA
• Blitzfood – Director: Sheridan James Lunt, UK/FFW
• Jardin De Amapolas – Director: Juan Carlos Melo Guevara, Colômbia

Best Documentary Feature
• Dah Zivota – Director: Snjezana Brezno, Bosnia
• Not Anymore – Director: Matthew Van Dyke, USA/Sierra
• One Ocean: No Limits – Director: Sarah McCann, Ireland

Best International Film
• Lifever – Director: Ted Hardy-Carnac, France

• Os Meninos Do Rio – Director: Javier Macipe, Portugal
• Electric Índigo – Director: Jean-Julien Collette, Belgium
• A Piece Of The Bottom – Director: Floyd Russ, USA

Best Irish Language film
• Dorchadas – Director: Noel A Malone, Ireland
• Taimse im Chodladh – Director: Denis Buckley, Ireland
• Barróg Béir – Directors: Gavin FitzGerald, Sibéal Eléna Davitt, Ireland

Best Student Film
• I’ve Been A Sweeper – Director: Ciarán Dooley, DIT/FN
• Bollocks – Director: Steven Larkin, DKIT
• The Last Gift – Director: Carl O’Donovan, ITB
• Model Life – Director: Tom Reynolds, BCFE

Best Animation Film
• Shoot – Director: Rory Conway, BCFE
• A Boy Named Hashtag – Director: Clark Wickstone, FN/ITB
• Tears – Director: Yahya Ghobadi, Iran
• The Bloggs – Director: Mick Rochford, Ireland

Best Short Film
• Skunky Dog – Director: James Fitzgerald, IADT/Ire
• Lines In The Sand – Director: Michael Gilroy, UK
• I’ll Be Home Soon – Director: James Everett, Ireland
• The Note – Director: Ciaran Creagh, Ireland
• Toy Soldiers – Director: Mike Hayes, FN/Ire

• In This Place – Director: Alec Moore, Ireland

Best Fingal Newcomer Media Award
• Volkswagen Joe – Director: Brian Deane, Ireland/FN
• A Boy Named Hashtag – Director: Clark Wickstone

Tickets for the Awards Night cost 20 euro and can be purchased here:

The 2014 Fingal Film Festival will take place in Movies@Sword, Pavilions Centre, Swords from 26th – 28th September.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *