Writers Guild of Ireland Zebbie Awards



The shortlist for the annual Writers Guild of Ireland “Zebbie” Awards has been announced, with nomination for scripts in five categories encompassing television, radio, theatre, and feature and short film.

The Writers Guild of Ireland (formerly the Irish Playwrights and Screenwriters Guild) founded the awards in 2007 in order to highlight the best in Irish writing for stage, screen and radio. OZ “Zebby” Whitehead, for whom the awards are named, was a stage and film character actor who used his own personal funds to sponsor new writing for thirty years.

The shortlist for each category is as follows:

Feature Film
Out Of Here – Donal Foreman
Run and Jump – Steph Green and Ailbhe Keogan
Love Eternal – Brendan Muldowney

Love/Hate – Season 4, Episode 3 – Stuart Carolan
Republic of Telly – Season 9, Episode 1 – Shane Mulvey, Jason Butler, Chris Tordoff, Kevin McGahern, Damien Fox, Stephen Shields, Brendan O’ Shea, Luc O’ Cincella
Deception – Season 1, Episode 3, “Hidden” – Ted Gannon
Callan Kicks The Year – Oliver Callan and James Cotter

The Man in the Woman’s Shoes – Mikel Murfi
Boys and Girls – Dylan Coburn Gray
Summertime – David Ireland

A Golden Triangle – Philip Doherty
Hairy Jaysus – Donal O’Kelly
Maybe The Night – Kevin Barry

Short Film
Mechanic – Feidlim Cannon and Tom Sullivan
The Missing Scarf – Eoin Duffy
Rúbaí – Antoin Beag Ó Colla

The winner in each category will be declared at the 2014 Zebbie Awards Ceremony on Thursday, May 15 2014, at the Sugar Club, in Dublin. Doors open at 7.30pm, and events commence at 8.00pm.

Tickets – priced €10 for members and €20 for non-members, are available on the Guild website at http://script.ie/zebbies/ztickets/



One Reply to “Writers Guild of Ireland Zebbie Awards”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *