Kerry Film Festival: Winners

| October 17, 2012 | Comments (0)

Home Turf

The Tralee section of the KFF came to a close yesterday evening after a five day of cinematic feast. One of the highlights of the festival is the KFF Awards Ceremony and this year was even more fun than ever.

The annual Maureen O’Hara Award to celebrate outstanding women in cinema was this year presented to one of Ireland’s brightest young stars, Saoirse Ronan, who attended the ceremony to accept the award. Speaking after the ceremony, Saoirse Ronan said: “I had a wonderful time at the Kerry Film Festival! It was a real honour to receive the Maureen O’Hara Award and I’m delighted I got a chance to meet some of the talented filmmakers at the event. I hope to come back again soon!”

Winning Films

Student Shorts

 Sam Ranahan

Documentary Short
Home Turf

Dir: Ross Whitaker

After You

Dir: Damien O’Connor

Irish Narrative
The Boys From County Hell
Dir: Chris Baugh

International Narrative

Dir: Steve Nex

Children’s Audience Award

Flippin’ Bird

Dir: Maureen Walshe

Audience Award
Toy Soldier
Dir: Mike Hayes

The 2012 awards judging panel was comprised of Dave Fanning (Best International Short), director and producer Paul Duane (Best Documentary Short); writer, director and producer Terry George (Best Irish Short category), and Jam Media’s John Rice (Best Animated Short).


Category: Festivals, News

Leave a Reply

If you want a picture to show with your comment, go get a Gravatar.