Light In Motion Awards at the Foyle Film Festival

The Foyle Film Festival is now inviting submissions for the 2011 Light In Motion (LIM) Awards, with the award winners being announced at the 2011 Festival.

The Foyle Film Festival, now in its 24th year, is one of a handful of festivals with Oscar®-affiliation and BAFTA recognition. The festival offers filmmakers, animators and artists a unique platform to screen their films, network with industry professionals and gain access to the international market.

The Festival, funded and supported by Northern Ireland Screen and Derry City Council, delivers a programme of documentaries, short films and feature films from all over the world; a full programme of educational events for youth and adults and an impressive array of industry networking events and panel discussions.

Recipients of the LIM Award qualify for consideration in the Short Films Category of the Annual Academy Awards® without the standard theatrical run, provided the film otherwise complies with the Academy rules.

The Four Competition Categories under LIM are:

Best Irish Short

Best International Short

Best Animation

Best Documentary

All entries for the 2011 Festival must be submitted through affiliated website: Entries shortlisted for each category will be screened during this year’s Festival which will take place from Friday 25th November to Saturday 3rd December 2011.

Previous winners and competitors who have proceeded to win the Oscar®, include: Martin McDonagh (Six Shooter), Adam Elliot (Harvie Krumpet), and Eric Armstrong (Chubbchubbs).

For competition submission and information on rules, regulations, cost, and how to apply to the LIM Film Awards please log onto the festival website, or go directly to

For programme information contact Foyle Film Festival office at The Nerve Centre on +4428 71260562 or log on to


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *